Cuban Black Beans & Qunioa

One of the reasons I’m beginning to seriously consider making the switch to dried beans is the continuing problem of leftovers.  Most of the cooking I’ve been doing lately has only been for two people so, unless I make a big batch of something and freeze the rest, there are inevitably beans left over when I open a can.

However, it’s not all bad.

cuban black beans 01

Meet Cuban-Style Black Beans from Vegan Planet.  This is a great recipe for leftover beans!  It comes together quickly with onions, carrots, bell pepper, and tomato.  The seasoning is simple, too.  All in all, I think it took about twenty minutes to prepare.

cuban black beans 02

The recipe suggested serving it over rice, but we hadn’t had quinoa in a while so I went with that instead.  It turned out be a good combination, especially with scallions and fresh parsley for garnish.  Yet another awesome Robin Robertson recipe!

Question for the comments: What’s your favorite way to use up leftover beans?

5 Comments

  1. Lorin said,

    11/05/2010 at 7:38 AM

    You just need to eat more like the vegans in my house. 2 people, 1 can of beans, NO problem 🙂

    • Sam said,

      11/05/2010 at 9:18 AM

      lol, When my brother is home, we have absolutely no problem powering through enough food for four people. But my mom and I are both pretty tiny.

  2. 11/05/2010 at 5:38 AM

    I love beans and quinoa! This looks really delicious! I’ve been using mostly dry beans lately, but only because I can cook them in the rice cooker. No fuss, no muss! I cup of beans cooks up to about 1.5 cups of beans, though (about the same as a can) but I love leftover beans. I through them in morning veggie scrambles or soups that I pack for lunch!

    • Sam said,

      11/05/2010 at 6:13 AM

      Yum! Sometimes I use my leftovers to make a burrito or quesadilla when I’m only cooking for myself. 🙂

  3. veganrose said,

    11/04/2010 at 8:31 PM

    throw them in soup!