Orange-Glazed Tofu & Asparagus

In another “hey, this is on sale!” moment last week, I picked up a nice bunch of asparagus.  The last time this happened, I found myself making risotto, so I knew I wanted something different this time around.

My traditional searching of cookbook indexes yielded an interesting-sounding combination: orange-glazed tofu and asparagus out of 1,000 Vegan Recipes.  I like to think I’ve become more adventurous about food since starting my vegan journey, and I’ve had success with orange-flavored things in the past, so that was the recipe I settled on.

orange glazed tofu cooking

This was a super-easy dish to prepare.  The sauce was simple, the cook time was short, and even marinating the tofu was a breeze.  The only mistake I made was not draining the tofu quite as much as it needed, so I don’t think the marinade took as well as it might have otherwise.

Aside from that, the combo was as interesting–and awesome–as it sounded.  The orange juice in the sauce gave everything just a hint of citrus without being overpowering.

orange glazed tofu and asparagus

The tofu was chewy instead of browned or crispy, but again, good flavor.  I certainly have no complaints!  It was a neat and unusual way to enjoy asparagus.  The rest of the bunch got steamed without any adornment as a side dish for an Amy’s roasted veggie pizza tonight.  A nice, simple dinner after hauling butt to the polls and back!

I want to apologize in advance if my blogging seems spotty this month.  I’m participating in my 7th NaNoWriMo which, as any of you who have tried it know, is a huge drain on time.  A fun drain on time, but a drain nonetheless!  That’s also why I’m not doing Vegan MoFo this year, but there are tons of other awesome bloggers who are, so go read them!

