Black Bean & Butternut Squash Chili — Because Squash is Awesome

Local squash has started popping up at the grocery store for ridiculously good prices and, food sucker that I am, I keep finding myself eyeing them and dreaming of what recipes to use them in.  My continuing quest to try new cool-weather recipes led me to bring home a butternut squash, part of which subsequently went into a batch of black bean and butternut squash chili from 1,000 Vegan Recipies.

black bean butternut chili

Robin Robertson remarks in the book that it’s a good chili for around Halloween because of the color.  There is indeed a lot of color interplay going on, which made this fun to look at in addition to smelling delicious.

black bean butternut chili served

I made a couple of substitutions to make it work with what I had on hand.  Instead of canned tomatoes, I chopped up about 1/2 cup of our fresh garden tomatoes.  The recipe also calls for apple juice, for which I subbed diluted apple cider vinegar mixed with a little agave.  That worked well enough, but having tasted the final product I think actual juice would give it more oomph.

black bean butternut chili w/ quinoa

It was delicious over quinoa.  My only complaint was that it didn’t have much zip.  I don’t personally find chili powder to be all that hot, and I’d add a little cayenne if I made this again.  All in all, not a bad way to use butternut squash!

Question for the comments: What’s your favorite fall produce and what recipe(s) do you use it in?

2 Comments

  1. 10/20/2010 at 5:17 AM

    Squash IS awesome! Great looking chili!

  2. 10/19/2010 at 5:49 PM

    I’ll be making this tomorrow! Yum!!!