Homemade Veggie Burgers = Win

As I move forward in my vegan journey, I find myself relying less and less on things like veggie burgers and faux meats.  They’re good, but they’re expensive, and some contain processed ingredients that I’d rather not ingest if I can help it.

Sometimes, though, you just want a burger.  (Which is kind of funny, because before I went veg I didn’t like burgers.  Ground beef has always weirded me out.)

lentil burgers cooking

These are the “Ultimate Veggie Burgers” from Vegan Planet.  I’ve made a variety of veggie burgers over the years, both vegetarian and vegan, and can only remember one recipe that I didn’t like.  While I wouldn’t personally call this one “ultimate,” they ARE pretty darn good.  The recipe calls mainly for lentils, walnuts, and vital wheat gluten as the basis for the patty, with onion and parsley as seasonings and some browning sauce for flavor.  The only change I made was to use a little Liquid Smoke instead of the browning sauce to more of a “barbecue” taste.

lentil burgers

These were awesome paired with some fries and steamed Brussels sprouts.  My mom picked up some roasted red pepper spread at the Veg Expo from Zorbas Natural Food, and we wound up using that as a condiment on the burgers.  One word: YUM!

Question for the comments:
What’s your favorite veggie burger to buy or make?

1 Comment

  1. 10/09/2010 at 4:05 AM

    I had a lot of fun experimenting with veggie burger recipes this summer. Lots of grilling! I suppose it’s time to pan-fry or bake some this fall 🙂 They are SO much better than the processed ones in the store! One of my favorites was a quinoa-TVP mixture…I stuffed Daiya cheese inside (okay so I added something processed, but it sure was good!) 😉