Harvest Fest!

What a great day today!  After church, my mom and I headed over to the Local Harvest Festival in Washington Park.  I wish I’d brought my camera–it was a great little setup.  Several awesome local businesses and farms had tables and little tents.  I got adventurous with produce and picked up an acorn squash and some beets.  I also found out that Otter Hook Farm has a CSA with a pickup location at the local co-op!  I’m really excited about that, since I’ve been looking for a good CSA without luck.

Vegan Creations–a local maker of delicious vegan food, cookies, hummus, etc.–was also there, along with Once Again Nut Butters and Vermont Soapworks.  My mom and I tried cashew and sunflower butters; both were excellent.  My mom wound up buying a jar of the sunflower butter, and I’m thinking of using it in place of peanut butter in a recipe sometime.  We also picked up an organic fruit and veggie wash, and I got some raw shea butter to use in my continuing battle against dry hands.

I was super-excited to discover All Good Bakers, most of whose selection was vegan.  I tried an amazing energy snack ball with peanut butter, oats, puffed rice, and vegan chocolate chips–total yum.  My mom picked up a huge vegan cinnamon bun to have for breakfast.  All in all, we had a great time.  It was cool to see so many people out and supporting local business and agriculture!

I haven’t been doing anything terribly creative in the kitchen this weekend, but I’m excited about the menu I have lined up for the week!  Spicy pepper and mushroom calzones, lime peanut noodles, Indian soup and bread, and of course I want to stuff the acorn squash I bought.  I’ve never had acorn squash before, so I’m especially looking forward to that one.  I’ve also been working on adapting a low-sugar zucchini bread recipe, which I’m hoping to tweak tomorrow.  As usual, there will be pictures and posts of my kitchen antics!

5 Comments

  1. 10/08/2010 at 12:02 PM

    […] my mentioning how I discovered the awesome All Good Bakers at the Harvest Fest?  I wish I’d had my camera with me at the time, because trying to blog about them without […]

  2. 10/03/2010 at 6:40 PM

    […] so full of awesome.)  I also grabbed six more of their cookies, since the ones I got at the Harvest Fest were long […]

  3. 09/24/2010 at 6:16 PM

    […] I was at the Harvest Fest, I picked up this lovely acorn squash.  I’m a pretty big fan of squash in general, but […]

  4. Britin said,

    09/22/2010 at 4:40 AM

    This is All Good Bakers, so glad you discovered and enjoyed our food! We are starting a Community Supported Bakery (like a CSA, but for bread and baked goods). The winter season will go Nov-Apr. We’re going to be using organic flours and the vegan buns will be on the menu. Follow us on FB to find out more 🙂 And thanks for the mention!

    • Sam said,

      09/22/2010 at 6:29 AM

      Ooh, CSB. Sounds delicious! Are you guys on Twitter? 🙂