Yet More Beans & Rice!

Deja vu?  Nope, just more beans and rice.

tahini lemon rice

Tahini Lemon Rice and Beans from Vegan Yum Yum, more or less.  I used pinto beans instead of black and adjusted the sauce a bit because it seemed a little heavy on the tahini.  It came out great!  The rice soaked the sauce right up, giving the whole thing a subtle tahini flavor.  I’m also a complete sucker for anything that calls for rice vinegar.

tahini lemon rice plate

I swear I could make beans and rice every night for two weeks and never repeat a recipe.  Add to that the plethora of pilaf recipes floating around, and things that contain beans and can be served over rice…it astonishes me that some people still think vegan food is boring!

I think I’m officially on a bean and rice kick now…

3 Comments

  1. 09/09/2010 at 4:58 AM

    Never too many beans and rice dishes! (though yesterday I substituted quinoa for rice, for some variety. YUM)

    • Sam said,

      09/09/2010 at 5:25 AM

      That’s awesome, too! There’s a really good red bean & quinoa recipe in Quick & Easy Vegan Comfort Food that I make on occasion. I think I love quinoa as much as I love rice, hehe.

  2. Noelle said,

    09/08/2010 at 12:27 PM

    I am hearing you over here. I have burrito in a bowl for the next few days. Leftovers from my “catering” gig. 🙂 I love it though.