Labor Day Last Hurrah — Chocolate Bundt Cake!

chocolate bundt cake

During the summer, my church has a picnic after services every first Sunday of the month.  This year, I’ve been trying to contribute a tasty vegan item.  Fortunately, everyone is pretty open to trying new things, so I’ve had a chance to share baked mac & “cheese”, chickpea “tuna salad” and, this month, chocolate bundt cake!

chocolate bundt cake 02

I’ve been eyeing the “Lower-Fat” Chocolate Bundt Cake recipe in Veganomicon for a while and decided to try it out.  Any recipe that starts with “1 3/4 cup freshly brewed coffee” is enough to catch my attention!  I also like that it substitutes applesauce for a portion of the oil–making it moist instead of greasy, and lower in fat if you’re concerned about that sort of thing.

Before heading off to the picnic, it will get a dusting of powdered sugar, but I think it would also be pretty awesome with a light chocolate drizzle.

Question for the comments: What’s your favorite vegan picnic food to share?

4 Comments

  1. Helena said,

    09/07/2010 at 10:49 AM

    Wow, that looks so good! I like to bring pasta or potato salads. People are always surprised how good they can be without cheese, mayo, etc. 🙂

  2. Noelle said,

    09/05/2010 at 11:49 PM

    That bundt cake looks great! Hmmm, I think I like bringing salads to picnics, sometimes potato salads too.

  3. Katelyn said,

    09/05/2010 at 1:16 PM

    That is my favorite cookbook!! This looks delicious. I really should bring more vegan dishes to my church, what a great way to share the vegan love! 🙂

    • Sam said,

      09/07/2010 at 12:35 PM

      It really is! ^_^ I’ve been trying to bring a vegan dish to each picnic, and sometimes I bring vegan cookies to Bible study.