An Excuse to Eat Corn on the Cob

As if anyone needs an excuse to gobble fresh corn on the cob during the summer?  I certainly don’t, especially when it starts appearing at farm stands and grocery stores for ridiculously low prices.

I grabbed a couple of good-sized ears this past week and needed something to pair them up with.  There was some tempeh left from the last time I made tempeh burgers, and that became the Smokey Grilled Tempeh from Veganomicon!

smokey grilled tempeh

Instead of grilling, I sort of went halfway between the grilling and panfrying instructions by brushing the pan with a little oil and coating the tempeh with marinade every time I turned it.  This was the first time I made a chunk of tempeh as part of a meal rather than incorporating it into a dish, and the result was delicious!

smokey tempeh dinner with corn

Add a baked potato with a little Earth Balance and nutritional yeast, and viola!  Tasty, summery dinner.  The corn was so delicious and sweet that it didn’t need any adornment.  I wasn’t really going for a “traditional Labor Day Weekend”-type dinner, but this could have fit the bill if I was!

