Return of Rice & Beans!

The versatility of rice and beans never ceases to amaze me.

creole beans and rice 01

Though this particular dish looks a lot like two or three others I’ve made in the past, it’s not the same!  This is a creole-style rice and bean dish, which I made with brown rice instead of white.  Unlike the super-spicy jollof rice and bean recipe I like to make, this one is more mellow and uses hot sauce, thyme, and cumin as its major flavor sources.

I came across this one in the middle of a multitude of rice and bean recipes in 1,000 Vegan Recipes.  Once again, Robin Robertson didn’t disappoint!  The only thing I’d change about this is I’d use a hotter hot pepper.  I didn’t have any jalapeno on hand, so I chopped up a bit of a yellow chile I got from a church friend.  While the flavor was good, it wasn’t hot enough for me, and I wound up adding a little more hot sauce after serving!

creole rice and beans 02

Overall, though, it was amazing.  I love the mixed textures of these dishes, how the rice is a little bit more chewy than when cooked on its own, but not too hard.  That combined with the warm mushiness of the beans…mmm.  I really do love it.  I think I could cook rice and beans every night for a week and not repeat myself or get sick of it!

Question for the comments:
What’s your favorite rice and bean combination?

2 Comments

  1. 09/03/2010 at 5:24 AM

    I like to make traditional vegetarian chili and serve it over a bed of rice….my easy version of rice and beans! 😉

    • Sam said,

      09/03/2010 at 6:20 AM

      If you like spicy food, I think you’d like the jollof beans & rice recipe from Vegan Fire & Spice. 🙂 It’s become a favorite around my house and is pretty easy, too! It’s more or less one of those “chop everything and throw it in the pot to cook” recipes and it’s SPICY!