Warming Lentil Curry

Have I mentioned lately that I love curry?

lentil curry

I probably have, but just in case I haven’t…I love curry.  A lot.  Which is funny, because Indian food is one of the things I never really ate before becoming vegan.  I don’t know if I wasn’t adventurous enough or just never thought to try it, but now I find myself seeking it out.  Curry powder, Garam Masala, and cayenne pepper have become staple spices in my house.

lentil curry bowl

This particular curry is an amalgamation of brown lentils, carrots, peas, spices, and coconut milk from Vegan Planet.  I remember making it at least once before, and I remember it being good, but I don’t remember it being quite this good.  It might have been the lentils; in the past, I used a fairly generic, bagged type from the store.  This time, though, I got myself a jar of brown lentils at the co-op and tried those out.

Oh yeah.  So good.  The only thing I think I’d do differently in the future is add more ginger.  I love ginger, too, and I didn’t put quite enough in this batch.  Other than that, it was pleasantly spicy, hearty, and warming!

lentil curry rice

