Recipe: Brown Rice Cabbage Wraps

I’m on an ongoing quest to mix up what I eat for lunch.  Since going vegan, I’ve established a routine of what I like to eat on certain days, but it’s gotten a little old over the last year.  So on days when I know I want a salad, I’ve been trying to come up with new things to eat along with it.

Our local co-op sells a bunch of freshly-packed grain and bean salads in their deli section, and I started picking a few of those up here and there to have for lunch.  Then I thought, why not try making my own?  I took a little inspiration from my favorites and came up with a really simple rice salad that takes next to no time to put together.  Throw it in a cabbage leaf (or any green, leafy veggie) and viola!  Lunch!

Brown Rice Cabbage Wraps
serves 4

open cabbage wrap

Ingredients
1 cup uncooked brown rice
2 cups water

1/4 cup dried currants
2 tbsp. wanuts
1 tbsp. olive oil
liquid aminos
parsley

4 cabbage leaves (or your favorite leafy green)

Directions

1) Cook the rice in the water until all liquid is absorbed–about 45 minutes.  Do this ahead of time if you want cold rice salad.

2) Combine the cooked rice, currants, walnuts, and olive oil.  Add liquid aminos and parsley to taste.  Stir well.

rice salad bowl

3) For cold rice salad, store in the refrigerator until chilled.  Or serve immediately if you want a warm lunch!  Place about 1/4 of the rice mixture into each cabbage leaf, roll up, and enjoy.

cabbage wrap

