Mother’s Day cake

In general, my family doesn’t eat a lot of cake.  Though I love baking, cake is one of those things that is not only time-consuming, but also a little heavier on calories than I’m comfortable with.

However, I’m not adverse to a tasty chocolate treat on special occasions, so for Mother’s Day yesterday I pulled out the cookbooks and browsed for something appealing.

The end result of my search:

The cake is the quick and easy “Chocolate Cake” recipe from Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s The Joy of Vegan Baking (a beautiful book if ever there was one!), and the glaze is from 1,000 Vegan Recipes.  The result was a moist, delicious chocolate cake with a hard chocolate glaze topping.

I cut the recipe in half and baked it in an 8-inch square pan.  Then I decided that the square looked boring.

So I did a little playing around and came up with this flower-type arrangement.  The neat thing about it is that each triangle is exactly one serving of cake!  That, and I’m a sucker for triangle-cut food.

My mom loved the cake–which was what I was hoping!  And there’s enough left to enjoy it for several more days.

