When I’m not cooking, I…mess with computers!

Several years ago, I switched from desktop computer to laptop for most of my computing needs. The laptop is more portable and generally less of a hassle to maintain. But I still like to use my desktop machine for messing around with audio and video and, of course, to play the Sims!

My brother helped me build my old machine years ago, and I’ve been using it ever since, making the necessary upgrades here and there. But ever since Sims 3 came out, it’s become more and more of a struggle to get it to cooperate with the game. After several annoying issues whose potential fixes turned out to be more trouble than they were worth, I decided it was time for a change.

I picked this up last week and have been loving it ever since. It has a faster processor and almost three times the memory of my old desktop, as well as a better graphics card. And it’s so quiet that I can barely tell it’s running most of the time!

There are still a few kinks to work out (Windows 7 seems not to be fond of hardware changes), but as a gaming machine I think I’m going to like this one a lot.

As far as food goes, I haven’t been cooking anything bloggable these past few days, but I did whip up some of Lauren Ulm’s smoky miso tofu slices for sandwiches a few days ago.

Now all I need to do is find me some good-quality English muffins. White bread ones taste good enough, but the ingredient list scares me a bit! I’m leaning toward investing in the sprouted Ezekiel kind when my mom and I visit the local co-op this weekend.

